Linda Joy Awards Winners Announced

Linda Joy

Linda Joy Awards Announces Prize Winners

The Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative (AFCOOP) and the Linda Joy Media Arts Society (LJMAS) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Linda Joy Media Arts Awards.

The Linda Joy Award goes to Michael Fuller and Josh Dunn for their project, Our Hearts Aren’t Disabled. The Linda Joy Award consists of $2,000 cash, a free AFCOOP membership, access to AFCOOP’s Equipment and General Liability Insurance, $3,000 in-kind for AFCOOP equipment and facilities, and $2,500 in-kind lighting and grip package rental courtesy of William F. White International.

Our Hearts Aren’t Disabled will be a 60-minute documentary that will examine the romantic lives of people living with mobility challenges. This film will focus on people with cerebral palsy (or at least mobility impairment) from different ages, genders, orientations and geographical backgrounds. It will include Josh’s own story as well as those of five other disabled people.

Michael Fuller is a photographer and filmmaker based in Halifax, Nova Scotia. His photographs have been exhibited in both Canada and the United States. Our Hearts Aren’t Disabled will be his second feature documentary. This is the second time he has received a Linda Joy Award.

Josh Dunn is a 35-year-old multi-disciplinary artist with cerebral palsy. His body of work includes 12 years of stand-up comedy, an autobiographical theatre show called I’m Still Here, an illustrated poetry show called Pictures & Words and a podcast called Gimpin Ain’t Easy. He has most recently been funded to make a documentary called Our Hearts Aren’t Disabled. People have done some wonderful work to make spaces accessible for disabled folks. Josh’s work attempts to make life accessible.

The Linda Joy Post Award goes to Josh Owen for his film, Ghoulish Galactic Grievances. The Linda Joy Post Award consists of $1,000 cash, $2,000 in-kind access to AFCOOP’s Media Suite, and online colour correction and sound mixing courtesy of Current Studios.

Ghoulish Galactic Grievances is a sci-fi fantasy short film about a Ghoul who follows her dreams out of a friend-filled swamp into outer space.

Josh Owen is a writer, director, animator and sound person from Dartmouth Nova Scotia who is making a short film about a creature for every letter of the alphabet. He likes fantastical story elements, along with traditional animation and “old school” cinematic tricks to highlight the humanistic struggles we all have sometimes.

The Linda Joy Awards are presented by the Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative with generous funding from the Province of Nova Scotia. Sponsors of the brunch and prizes include: FIN: Atlantic International Film Festival, William F. White International, Current Studios, Propeller Brewing Company, Bulwark Craft Cider, Pete’s Frootique and NIFCO.

About the Linda Joy Media Arts Society:

Linda Joy Banner

The Linda Joy Media Arts Society (LJMAS) was founded in 1986 to commemorate the contributions and legacy of Nova Scotia filmmaker and former AFCOOP Coordinator, Linda Joy Busby, who died of breast cancer at the age of 34. The film, “Linda Joy,” which was started by Linda Joy Busby to share her experience during a period of remission, was later completed by friend and fellow filmmaker Bill MacGillivray. Proceeds from the sale of this film comprised the foundation of the initial society.

Over the past 30 years, the LJMAS has grown from awarding a single grant of $500 to supporting over 150 filmmakers in this region through cash and in kind services totalling over $1 million. Previous award winners have gone on to national and international acclaim, and are now successful, established artists, including: Andrea Dorfman, Shandi Mitchell, Rodrigue Jean, Ashley McKenzie, Mike Clattenburg, Cory Bowles, Becka Barker, Amanda Dawn Christie, Jordan Canning, Bretten Hannam and Tim Tracey.

Following a two year hiatus, the Linda Joy Media Arts Society has been reinvigorated under the management of the Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative, guided by a committee comprised of founding LJMAS and film community members including: Lulu Keating, David Hopper, Chuck Clark, Jim MacSwain, Cat LeBlanc, Rose Zack and Martha Cooley.

Past Recipients






afcooplogo-transparent-colour nifco

Stacked_CURRENT_Logo 3 William F Whites Logo