Linda Joy Awards – Deadline Aug. 17th

Linda Joy

The Linda Joy Media Arts Society was founded in 1986 to commemorate the contributions and legacy of Nova Scotia filmmaker and former AFCOOP Coordinator, Linda Joy Busby, who died of breast cancer at the age of 34. The film, “Linda Joy,” which was started by Linda Joy Busby to share her experience during a period of remission, was later completed by friend and fellow filmmaker Bill MacGillivray. Proceeds from the sale of this film comprised the foundation of the initial society.

Since 2018, AFCOOP has taken over the administration of the Linda Joy Awards, which are given out once a year, typically during the Atlantic International Film Festival in September. This year, the AIFF will be presented online and so the awards will likely follow suit.

The Linda Joy Award and the Linda Joy Post Award consist of cash and in-kind services designed to help filmmakers in the Atlantic region produce a new piece of film or media art.

Awards are given out through a peer-jury process. If you’d like to participate on a future AFCOOP peer jury please email Iain:

The deadline for submission is year is Aug. 17th 11:59pm. Applications will be accepted online only.


● $2,000 cash
● AFCOOP Associate membership
● 2 x workshops of your choice
● Associate Membership
● Ability to be covered under AFCOOP’s General Liability and Production insurance if required.
● $2,500 in-kind lighting and grip package courtesy of William F. White, Halifax*

* The Newfoundland Independent Filmmakers Cooperative (NIFCO) will provide $3,000 in-kind gear and Atlantic Studios Cooperative (ASC) will provide a $7,500 in-kind rental of lighting and grip package for the Linda Joy Award.


● $1,000 cash
● $2,000 (valued at regular rates) in-kind access to AFCOOP’s Media Suite*

*NIFCO will provide $3,000 in-kind for post-production for the Linda Joy Post Award if a filmmaker from Newfoundland receives the award.

Applicants must be residents of Atlantic Canada. Note that sponsorship services are located in Nova Scotia. Past recipients can apply again at least 12 months after receiving their past award as long as their past Award project is completed, and required reports and material have been received by AFCOOP. Requests for retroactive financing are ineligible. The project for which funding is applied must be targeted for completion by September 2021. Those applying to the Linda Joy Post Award must restrict their project length to no longer than a 15 minute short film. The applicant must retain full creative control and ownership of the project throughout the production process.

Please note students are ineligible.



Applications will be judged by a peer jury of filmmakers and media artists. Projects will be evaluated based on the innovation and creativity of the proposed project. Consideration will be given to the applicant’s demonstrated ability to complete the project as planned and budgeted.