Linda Joy Awards

The Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative (AFCOOP) and the Linda Joy Media Arts Society (LJMAS) have joined forces to celebrate and support filmmaking in the Atlantic region.

Changes to the film industry tax credit in 2015, and the resulting loss of several long-term industry sponsors caused the LJMAS to fall dormant after 30 plus year of operation. Over the past 18 months, community members including former LJMAS board members and AFCOOP’s Executive Director worked to rebuild the society with the goal of relaunching the LJMAS awards in the service of future generations of Atlantic Canadian filmmakers.

Linda Joy Awards & Chowder Brunch

In September 2017, AFCOOP and LJMAS relaunched the Linda Joy Chowder Brunch, an informal film industry gathering over seafood chowder, which took place during FIN: Atlantic International Film Festival. The celebration returned to its original location at 2125 Brunswick Street, home to many artists who were friends and colleagues of Linda Joy Busby.

In 2018, AFCOOP and LJMAS are pleased to announce a renewed call for applications for the Joy Award and the Joy Post Award. Submissions will be open soon and will be accepted until August 27th, 2018 at 11:59pm. The award winners will be announced at the brunch in September.

About the Linda Joy Media Arts Society:

The Linda Joy Media Arts Society (LJMAS) was founded in 1986 to commemorate the contributions and legacy of Nova Scotia filmmaker and former AFCOOP Coordinator, Linda Joy Busby, who died of breast cancer at the age of 34. The film, “Linda Joy,” which was started by Linda Joy Busby to share her experience during a period of remission, was later completed by friend and fellow filmmaker Bill MacGillivray. Proceeds from the sale of this film comprised the foundation of the initial society.

Over the past 30 years, the LJMAS has grown from awarding a single grant of $500 to supporting over 150 filmmakers in this region through cash and in kind services totalling over $1 million. Previous award winners have gone on to national and international acclaim, and are now successful, established artists, including: Andrea Dorfman, Shandi Mitchell, Rodrigue Jean, Ashley McKenzie, Mike Clattenburg, Cory Bowles, Becka Barker, Amanda Dawn Christie, Jordan Canning, Bretten Hannam and Tim Tracey.

Following a two year hiatus, the Linda Joy Media Arts Society has been reinvigorated under the management of the Atlantic Filmmakers Cooperative, guided by a committee comprised of founding LJMAS and film community members including: Lulu Keating, David Hopper, Chuck Clark, Jim MacSwain, Cat LeBlanc, Rose Zack and Martha Cooley.

Past Recipients